Faculty Awards

Mary Cunningham Boyce

Department Head Professor Boyce was elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) this past winter for her outstanding contributions to the understanding of the mechanics of deformation in engineered and natural polymeric solids.


Cullen Buie

Professor Buie was awarded a National Science Foundation CAREER Award for his proposal titled, “Dielectric Phenotyping of Bacteria for Energy and Medicine.”


Tonio Buonassisi

Professor Buonassisi was recently awarded a National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award for his proposal titled, “Toward Robust, Scalable, and Non-Intermittent Solar Power: Silicon-Based Multi-Junction Devices with Integrated Photocatalysis.”


Nicolas Hadjiconstantinou

Professor Hadjiconstantinou recently won the prestigious ASME Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award for his international leadership in modeling and simulation of micro/nano. The award recognizes outstanding achievement in mechanical engineering 10 to 20 years post-graduation.


Anette “Peko” Hosoi

Professor Hosoi was awarded the JP Den Hartog Distinguished Educator Award for excellence in teaching mechanical engineering, for serving as an inspiration for students, and for fostering the development of physical insight and engineering judgment.


Rohit Karnik

Professor Karnik was recently awarded a Department of Energy Early Career Award by the Office of Basic Energy Science for his research on “Graphene Membranes with Tunable Nanometer-Scale Pores.”


John Lienhard

Professor Lienhard was recently awarded the ASME Technical Communities Globalization Medal, which was recently established in 2011 for an ASME member who demonstrated a sustained level of outstanding achievement in the promotion of international mechanical engineering-related activities.


Derek Rowell

Professor Rowell was recently recognized with the Spira Award for Teaching Excellence in Mechanical Engineering for his history of excellence in teaching and his introduction of the new course Electronics for Mechanical Engineers two years ago.


Sanjay E. Sarma

Professor Sarma has been recognized for his exceptional achievements and contributions in research, education, and service with an appointment to the Daniel Fort Flowers and Fred Fort Flowers Professor of Mechanical Engineering.


David E. Wallace

Professor Wallace was recently selected to receive the 2012 ASME Joel and Ruth Spira Outstanding Design Educator Award in recognition of his leadership in product development education.


Evelyn Wang

Professor Wang recently received the 2012 Young Investigator Award from the Office of Naval Research for her development of advanced thin film evaporation and condensation surfaces for high-performance thermal management devices.

Professor Wang was also the recipient of the 2012 ASME Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator Award in Heat Transfer, given to a heat transfer engineer under the age of 36 who has a PhD or equivalent and has demonstrated the potential to make significant contributions to the field.


Maria C. Yang

Professor Yang has been recognized for her exceptional advising and mentoring of students with the Earll Murman Award for Excellence in Advising by the Office of Undergraduate Education.