Faculty Awards

Harry Asada

Professor Harry Asada was recently named a holder of the Singapore Research Chair.

George Barbastathis

Professor George Barbastathis was recently named a holder of the Singapore Research Chair.

John Brisson

Professor John Brisson was recently named director of the MIT/SUTD Collaboration Office.

Cullen Buie

Assistant Professor Cullen Buie has been selected as one of 14 young research professors to receive the 2013 DuPont Young Professor Award.

Gang Chen

Professor Gang Chen has been selected to receive the Medal of the ASME Heat Transfer Division. He was also recently named a Fellow of the American Physical Society.

Martin Culpepper

Professor Martin Culpepper was recently named a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Steven Dubowsky

Professor Steven Dubowsky has been awarded the ASME Mechanism and Robotics Award.

Nicolas Fang

Associate Professor Nick Fang has recently been awarded the 2013 Chao and Trigger Young Manufacturing Engineer Award by the ASME Division of Manufacturing.

John Hart

Associate Professor John Hart was recently named a holder of the Mitsui Career Development Chair.

Anette “Peko” Hosoi

Professor Peko Hosoi was recently named a Fellow of the American Physical Society.

Franz Hover

Professor Franz Hover was recently awarded the Marine Technology Society’s Lockheed Martin Award in Ocean Science and Engineering. He was also awarded the 2013 Ruth and Joel Spira Award for Distinguished Teaching.

Ken Kamrin

Assistant Professor Ken Kamrin was recently awarded a National Science Foundation CAREER Award for his proposal titled “Predicting Granular Flows: Amorphous Continuum Modeling with a Length-Scale.”

Sangbae Kim

Assistant Professor Sangbae Kim was recently awarded a DARPA Young Investigator Award for his proposal “A Disaster Response Robot Capable of Power Manipulation.”

Alexie Kolpak

Assistant Professor Alexie Kolpak was recently named a holder of the Rockwell International Career Development Chair.

John Lienhard

Professor John Lienhard and his former post doc Prakash Narayan, along with their team, were recently awarded the Water Technology Idol of the Year Award at the 2013 Global Water Summit for their humidification-dehumidification-desalination process for cleaning water.

Seth Lloyd

Professor Seth Lloyd received the Quantum Communication Award for Theoretical Research at the 11th International Conference on Quantum Communication, Measurement, and Computing (QCMC 2012).

Gareth McKinley

Professor Gareth McKinley was awarded the Bingham Medal by the Society of Rheology.

Anthony Patera

Professor Anthony Patera was named an honorary member of the Societe de Mathématiques Appliquées et Industrielles. He was also awarded a chaire d’Excellence by the Fondation Sciences Mathématiques de Paris. Most recently, he was awarded the 2013 Thomas J.R. Hughes Medal by the United States Association for Computational Mechanics.

Ronald Probstein

Professor Emeritus Ronald F. Probstein recently received the 2013 AIAA Pendray Aerospace Literature Award from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).

Themis Sapsis

Assistant Professor Themis Sapsis was named the first holder of the American Bureau of Shipping Career Development Chair in Mechanical Engineering, made possible by a donation from the American Bureau of Shipping.

Sanjay Sarma

Professor Sanjay Sarma was named director of the recently formed MIT Office of Digital Learning.

Nam Pyo Suh

Professor Emeritus Nam Pyo Suh was recently awarded the Doctor Honnoris Causa degree from the Universidade Nova de Lisboa.

Yang Shao-Horn

Professor Yang Shao-Horn recently received the International Battery Materials Association’s Research Award of 2013.

Michael Triantafyllou

Professor Michael Triantafyllou was recently named Chairman of the Council of the National Technical University of Athens.

Kripa Varanasi

Associate Professor Kripa Varanasi recently received the Society of Manufacturing Engineers’ 2013 Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award. He was also selected to receive the 2013 Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator Award in Heat Transfer by ASME. Additionally, the Varanasi Research Group’s
LiquiGlide was named one of Time magazine’s Best Inventions of 2012.

Evelyn Wang

Associate Professor Evelyn Wang recently received the Office of Naval Research’s Young Investigator Award.

Amos Winter

Assistant Professor Amos Winter was recently named the Noyce Career Development Chair.

Kamal Youcef-Toumi

Professor Youcef-Toumi has been named a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.