Faculty Awards


brisson-webProfessor John Brisson received the MIT Earll M. Murman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising.

Buonasissi_01_webAssociate Professor Tonio Buonassisi was awarded the Everett Moore Baker Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching by MIT.


Professor Gang Chen, Department Head and Carl Richard Soderberg Professor of Power Engineering and Mechanical Engineering, received the 2014 Nukiyama Memorial Award from the Heat Transfer Society of Japan, and the 2014 Outstanding Alumni Award from Huazhong University of Science and Technology. He was elected as an academician of Academia Sinica in 2014. In addition, Professor Chen’s work on batteries that can capture low-grade waste heat and convert it to electricity was named one of Scientific American’s 2014 World-Changing Ideas.

2012-Nicholas-Fang-02_webProfessor Nick Fang was named a key player in MIT Technology Review’s 2015 list of 10 Breakthrough Technologies for his work on nano-architecture.

ghoniem_webProfessor Ahmed Ghoniem received the 2015 ASME James Harry Potter Gold Medal, which recognizes eminent achievement or distinguished service in the science of thermodynamics and its application in mechanical engineering.

Kamm-01-webProfessor Roger Kamm received the Huiskes Medal for Biomechanics from the European Society of Biomechanics for his significant contributions to biomechanics throughout his career.

Kamrin_webAssistant Professor Ken Kamrin received the Eshelby Mechanics Award. This award is given annually by ASME to rapidly emerging junior faculty who exemplify the creative use and development of mechanics.

Sangbae_Kim-1_webAssociate Professor Sangbae Kim won the Ruth and Joel Spira Award for Excellence in Teaching by the School of Engineering.

leonard_webProfessor John Leonard was appointed to the Samuel C. Collins Chair Professorship.

Lienhard_webProfessor John Lienhard was named the Abdul Latif Jameel Professor of Water & Food. He also received the 2015 Heat Transfer Memorial Award for outstanding contributions to the field of heat transfer.

parks_webProfessor David Parks was named an ASME Fellow.

Sapsis_Themistoklis-20_webAssistant Professor Themis Sapsis received the 2015 Young Investigator Award from the Office of Naval Research. He was awarded a 2015 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow in Ocean Sciences.

shao-horn_webProfessor Yang Shao-Horn was elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Slocum-01_webProfessor Alex Slocum received the 2014 Association of Manufacturing Technology Charlie Carter Advanced Manufacturing Award. He also received a NEUP award to develop a seawater uranium extraction system that will work symbiotically with an offshore windmill.

triantaphyllou_webProfessor Michael Triantafyllou was named an APS Fellow.

FA_Amos_webAssistant Professor Amos Winter, along with PhD student Natasha Wright, won USAID’s Desal Prize for their photovoltaic-powered electrodialysis reversal system for off-grid regions. He also received the Freudenstein/General Motors Young Investigator Award at the 2014 ASME International Design & Engineering Technical Conferences.

Ioannis-V.-Yannas_webProfessor Ioannis Yannas was recently inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame for his invention of artificial skin.

ZHAO_01_webAssociate Professor Xuanhe Zhao received the 2015 Journal of Applied Mechanics Award for his paper “Phase diagrams of instabilities in compressed film-substrate systems.”


Faculty Promotions


Professors Rohit Karnik, Kripa Varanasi, and Maria Yang have been promoted from associate professor without tenure to associate professor with tenure. Professors Cullen Buie and Xuanhe Zhao have been promoted from assistant professor to associate professor.