Faculty and Staff Awards


Faculty Awards

Triantaphyllos Akylas

Triantaphyllos Akylas was recently elected a fellow of the American Physical Society. The society recognized him for his “elegant and insightful theoretical investigations of nonlinear surface and internal gravity wave phenomena.”

Harry Asada

Harry Asada, Ford Professor of Engineering and Director of the d’Arbeloff Laboratory for Information Systems and Technology, was recently recognized with the 2011 Ruth & Joel Spira Award for Distinguished Teaching. Harry was also recognized with the prestigious 2011 ASME Rufus Oldenburger Medal for lifetime achievement in automatic control.

George Barbastathis

George Barbastathis, SMART Research Professor of Optics and Professor of Mechanical Engineering, was recently named a fellow of the Optical Society of America. In addition, his amazing invisibility cloak was recently named No. 4 on Physics World’s list of top 10 breakthroughs in 2010.

Gang Chen

In recognition of his outstanding mentoring contributions as a professor in MIT’s School of Engineering, Gang Chen, Carl Richard Soderberg Professor of Power Engineering, has been selected as a recipient of the 2011 Capers and Marion McDonald Mentor Award.

Douglas P. Hart

Lantos Technologies, an MIT spinoff cofounded by Mechanical Engineering Professor Douglas P. Hart and Sloan School of Management graduate Shahid Azim, recently won the 2011 North American Enabling Technologies Award for an invention that dramatically increases the functionality of hearing aids.

Anette (Peko) Hosoi

Peko Hosoi, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, was recently selected for the 2011 Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Franz Hover

Professor Franz Hover was recently named the Finmeccanica Career Development Chair of Engineering.

Peter So

Professor Peter So was recently named the SMART Research Professor of Bioinstrumentation and Bio-imaging.

Kripa Varanasi

Kripa Varanasi, the d’Arbeloff Assistant Professor and leader of the Lab for Surface Science & Engineering, has won the Best Practice Award for research and discovery in life sciences. Additionally, effective on July 1, 2011, Kripa will become the Doherty Career Development Chair in Ocean Utilization.

Evelyn Wang

Evelyn Wang, Esther and Harold E. Edgerton Assistant Professor, recently won the Air Force Office of Scientific Research Young Investigator Award.


Staff Awards

This past February, Instructor Barbara Hughey was honored at the MIT Excellence Awards for her exceptional teaching in the core undergraduate 2.671 instrumentation laboratory.

Ed Jacobson, Administrative Assistant II, was the 2011 recipient of the Joseph (Tiny) Caloggero Service Award for his outstanding contribution to the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

Angela Mickunas, Assistant Director for Administration and Research, KFUPM, won this year’s Infinite Mile Award for her willingness to go above and beyond in her service to the Center for Clean Water and Clean Energy.